Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Tidal just added 15 more Prince albums

Written by Oliver Gettell — Tidal just unleashed a purple wave.

The music-streaming service has added 15 albums featuring the prolific artist Prince to its library, including the triple LP Crystal Ball, the remix EP 1999: The New Master, and the companion live recordings One Nite Alone… Live! and One Nite Alone… The Aftershow: It Ain’t Over.

All told, the offerings include 11 Prince albums, two albums from his backing band the New Power Generation (which Prince produced), his record label showcase 1-800-NEW-FUNK, and the Girl 6 soundtrack.

The cache adds to the three dozen or so Prince albums that were already available on Tidal, including Prince, Dirty Mind, Controversy, and Purple Rain.

Tidal released Prince’s last two studio albums before his death in April, HITnRUN Phase One and HITnRUN Phase Two, and it is the only major streaming service where the majority of his work is accessible.

Last year Prince spoke to EW about his decision to work with the Jay Z-owned company. “The system is old and it doesn’t work anymore,” he said. “Jay allowed us to pick the artwork, design the page, choose the related content. Why shouldn’t you be allowed to do that when it’s your music, your creation?”

The Prince albums just added to Tidal are:

Prince / Prince & The Revolution / Prince & The New Power Generation
  • The Black Album (1987)
  • The Gold Experience (1995)
  • Chaos & Disorder (1996)
  • Crystal Ball (1998)
  • 1999: The New Master (1999)
  • Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic (1999)
  • Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic (2001)
  • The Rainbow Children (2001)
  • One Nite Alone… Live! (2002)
  • One Nite Alone… The Aftershow: It Ain’t Over (2002)
  • Indigo Nights (2008)
The New Power Generation
  • Exodus (1995)
  • New Power Soul (1998)
  • 1-800-NEW-FUNK (1994)
  • Girl 6 (1996)​
Click here to read from this article's source.